Jump to content

Dickson wins Bayelsa governorship election

Recommended Posts




Governor Seriake Dickson of the Peoples Democratic Party has been declared winner of the controversial Bayelsa State governorship election.


Dickson was declared winner of the election after he polled 134,998 votes, 48,146 votes more than his closest rival, former Governor, Timipre Sylva of the All Progessives Congress.


The Returning Officer of the election, Zana Akpagbu, returned Dickson as winner of the election, saying he had satisfied all requirements.


He said that, “Dickson Henry Seriake of PDP having satisfied the requirement of the law and secured the highest number of votes is hereby declared winner of the election.”


In all, there were 225,527 valid votes; 6, 647 rejected votes, while the total votes cast were 232,167.


Dickson, who secured the most votes in the December 5, election had also led Sylva in the supplementary election.



Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now