Volunteer with Us at Naijalez: Empowering Nigerian Lesbian Community ×
Nigerian Lesbian Forum

What Are You Most Thankful For?

FlyJ

• Administrators

The year is almost coming to an end and i am sure there is something if not more to give thanks for. So, feel free to list what you are most thankful for...

Here goes mine :

I am thankful for life.

I am thankful for my parents.

I am thankful for my siblings.

I am thankful for the forum, it gives me the opportunity to express myself without worrying about 14 years. :)

The floor is open...

This is my second December with Naijalez.

I’m thankful for the few people I’ve met on here. Though we never get to talk as often, you’d check up and say ‘Iris, hope ur being a good girl and not getting into trouble?” For every poorly thought out argument, criticism and fight...these initial reactions is far lesser than what I've gained through self-assessment and improvement...and I'm still learning.

I’m thankful for YOU. Quietly and emphatically, you’d say ‘’no no that’s not the way to talk. You need to learrrn how to communicate with kindness. Don’t u know it takes two to build a relationship and it takes two to create relationship problems as well? I watched as u tried to weed out d harshness in my voice and d critisicms in my words. Then one day you smiled and said ‘You’re getting better. Its not like before’. I must have lost it somewhere somehow again cz one day I said 'Our relationship sucks (I tink I said our rltnshp sucks)' and u said 'how can u say that to someone who's trying to make it work'. . Try to understand me, get to know me through my frnds '. 'I can't', I said . I didn't even say I'd try. Ok. Alrite. I'm learning diplomacy.

And for my best friend, I'm thankful. She’s always always there. There’s no time she’s not been.

For my sisters, especially my baby sis...I’m grateful. For all those times you’d pester me to tell you stories. I’d say "but I’ve told you everything". "Say it again," you’d say.